We’ve all been a part of an email chain that just won’t quit, and on a long enough timeline it really starts to get annoying. Even if you delete it, boom—it returns again with another reply. Fortunately, you can use the Mute feature in Gmail to permanently silence the chatter.
Just like on your TV, “muting” an email basically silences it. This means that all replies, forwards, and the like from that particular thread will no longer notify you or even hit your inbox—they’ll automatically be archived.